Picture Perfect: Parent Dances and a White Dress’s Worst Nightmare

After our first dance was over, we moved right along into the parent dances. I had been told sometime ago that if you want anyone to pay attention to these dances, do them as soon as the reception starts, so that’s what we did! 

Cam and his mom went first. His mom didn’t really have a preference on a song to dance to, so he looked a few suggested lists one afternoon and chose “Days Like This” by Van Morrison. Kind of an unconventional choice, but it worked. And who doesn’t love Van Morrison?

Image

 

“When it’s not always raining there’ll be days like this
When there’s no one complaining there’ll be days like this
When everything falls into place like the flick of a switch
Well my mama told me there’ll be days like this”

Image

 

What time is it? Oh, confession o’clock. I didn’t see any of this dance. And for a good reason. You see, when our DJ announced that Cam and his mom were about to dance, I stepped out of the way to watch from the sidelines. I ended up next to a friend from work, who somehow, some way, flicked her wrist towards me and sent RED WINE SPILLING DOWN THE FRONT OF MY DRESS. 

That’s right. Red. Wine. On my wedding dress. Five minutes into my reception. 

I remember being in a glass case of emotion, and not being super mad but not super happy for obvious reasons. I still feel bad for my work friend, you could tell she felt awful. Luckily, we were right in front of the bar, so we grabbed some club soda and a bunch of napkins and she and a few others went to work on the stain. 

At some point, Cam’s dance finished with his mom and it was my turn to dance with my dad, so we abandoned the club soda rescue mission. Truth be told, it wasn’t that bad. It ended up as kind of a light purpley shadow, that luckily you can’t see in any of my professional photos, so I don’t have proof that it happened, but trust me – it did. 

In any case, it was time to dance with Papa Camera, so I put on a smile and headed out to the dance floor. 

He told me he wanted to do something special during the dance, but nothing as intricate as the choreographed dances you see on online. He began by asking the DJ for the microphone. Since I don’t have videography, I don’t have the exact words, so bear with me:

Image “When Miss Camera was a baby, she was the worst sleeper. She would stay up screaming and crying until the sun rose. One night, in the midst of a particularly sleepless night, I decided to try an experiment. I put headphones, you know, those big, giant 80’s monstrosities, on her head, and let her listen to MTV, back when they still played videos. She smiled the biggest, toothless smile I’d ever seen from her, bobbed her head a few times, and was out like a light. So I took off the headphones to see what she was listening to, and now we’re going to dance to that song. I just hope she doesn’t fall asleep.”

Cue music. 

Living in America by James Brown started to play, and everyone laughed hysterically. That’s right – I fell asleep listening to the sweet, soothing melodies of James Brown. We took advantage of the upbeat song and danced around like maniacs for a minute or so.

Image

Image

Image

 

 

So random, and hilarious, and SO my dad. 

After about 30 seconds of this, the DJ cut off James Brown, and turned on my dad’s real song choice – What a Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong. He’s a sucker for classics. 

Image

 

Image

 

“..And I think to myself, what a wonderful world.”

Picture Perfect: First Dance :  wedding charleston pictures pro pics recap Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: Raise Your Glass :  wedding charleston pictures pro pics recap Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: Hamming It Up for the Camera :  wedding charleston humor pictures pro pics recap Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: Bridal Party Posin’ :  wedding bridal party charleston pictures pro pics recap Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: Let’s Get Married! :  wedding Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: The Longest Yard :  wedding charleston pictures pro pics recap Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: We Process :  wedding charleston pictures pro pics recap Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: Camera Family Values and What Cam Does When I’m Not Looking :  wedding charleston pictures pro pics recap Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: Bridesmaids by a Tree :  wedding charleston pictures pro pics recap Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: A Veil Made with Love :  wedding charleston pictures recap veil Pictureperfect4 pictureperfect4

Previously on Picture Perfect:

Leave a Reply

