Picture Perfect: Let’s Get Married!

I had just finished my long walk on the arm of Papa Camera, and Cam had taken my hands. We were surrounded by friends and family, and the love was palpable. As was the heat – it was 98 degrees outside that day. Apparently my bride brain kicked in about the time I decided to have an outdoor wedding in South Carolina on September 1. When I finally realized it, I knew what needed to be done – bottles of iced down water and wedding program fans. Both of these went over very well.

(All images via Ross Photography unless otherwise specified)

Image

Back to the task at hand – getting married!

Our officiant, Mr. Richard Bennett, was from A Mobile Marriage of Charleston – he was funny, sweet and very helpful. And he made our ceremony short and sweet, civil with a touch of religious, and let us write our own vows, which is exactly what we asked for.

 Image

Welcome. We are here today to witness Cam and Miss Camera join together in matrimony; which is an honorable estate and therefore is not to be entered into unadvisedly or lightly, but reverently and discreetly, into which estate these two persons present come now to be joined. 

Image

Cam and Miss Camera, if it is your intention to share with each other your jots and sorrows and all that the years will bring, with your promises bind yourselves to each other as husband and wife. 

FIL Camera will now read from Corinthians 13. 

Image

FIL Camera: Corinthians 13 (4-8)*
Love is patient, love is kind, it does not envy, it does not boast. It is not proud, it is not rude, it is not self-seeking, and it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth. Love always protects, always trusts, always hopes, and always perseveres. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends, love never fails.

*I know, I know. So cliche, right? But I love this verse. It sums up marriage absolutely perfectly. Even if it was a joke in Wedding Crashers.

Officiant: Please face each other and join hands. Cam, do you take Miss Camera to be your wedded wife? Do you promise to love her, comfort her, honor and keep her, in sickness and in health; and forsaking all others keep only unto her, so long as you both shall live?

Cam: I do

Miss Camera, do you take Cam to be your wedded husband? Do you promise to love him, comfort him, honor and keep him, in sickness and in health, and forsaking all others keep only unto him, so long as you both shall live? 

Miss Camera: I do

Image

We will now pause for a personal exchange of vows. 

Cam: Miss Camera, With the help of God, our families and friends, I vow to love you, honor you, respect you and take care of you for the rest of our lives. I will be your best friend, your confidant, your rock and your protector. I promise to stomp any spiders, tae out the garbage, and walk the dog – even in the rain or snow. I will lead us through our highs and lows with a silly joke to cheer you up when you are feeling down and open arms to celebrate our greatest accomplishments. I am committed to become one with you forever. These are my solemn vows to you. 

Image

Miss Camera: Cam, you are my best friend and I can’t imagine spending my life with anyone else. I promise to give you the best of myself and to ask of you no more than you can give. I promise to be patient, understanding and forgiving. I promise to support your goals and dreams and to help you realize them. I promise to seek adventure, joy and fun with you. I promise to compromise and respect your interests, even if it means giving up a whole Saturday to attend an App State game. I promise to always put you first. I promise to love you for who you are, and for who you want to be. I promise to enjoy the little things with you, because one day we will look back and realize they were the big things.* I promise to be your partner and best friend while we navigate all the days ahead. And I promise to love you completely, unconditionally and without hesitation. You are my love and my life, today and always. 

*That’s where I finally lost it and had to take a few seconds to recollect myself and my shaking voice.
Image
 
I’m strangely proud to say that my bridesmaids were crying, and I could hear some sniffles from the crowd too. Nailed it.
 
Image
 
I, Cam, take you, Miss Camera, to be my wife. I promise to stand beside you and with you always in times of celebration and in times of sorrow. In sickness and in health, I will live with you and love you, as long as we both shall live. 
 
I, Miss Camera, take you Cam, to be my husband. I promise to stand beside you and with you always in times of celebration and in times of sorrow. In sickness and in health, I will live with you and love you, as long as both shall live. 
 
Image
 
From earliest time, the ring has been a symbol of wedded love. It is a perfect circle to symbolize the unending love you promise.
 
Cam, take the ring which you have selected, place it on Miss Camera’s finger, and say to her these words: “This ring I give you, in token and in pledge, of my constant faith, and abiding love.”
 
 
Image
Miss Camera, take the ring which you have selected, place it on Cam’s finger and say to him these words: “This ring I give you, in token and in pledge, of my constant faith, and abiding love.”
 
Let us pray. We thank you, Lord, that you have brought Miss Camera and Cam together in love and promise. So in Your loving kidness, bless their years together with hope, care and guidance, that they may share the burdens and trials, endure the hardships, and find comfort in each others’ love and laughter. Each day may they know the joy of being in your love, and in each other’s love. For as they have said their vows, may your grace seal their words and their commitments in their hearts and minds with all love. For this is our prayer in God’s name. Amen.
 
To be loved is to know happiness and contentment, to give love is to know the joy of sharking oneself, for it is through the miracle of love that we discover the fullness of life. And now, by powder of the authority in me and having heard you make these pledges of affection, I pronounce you husband and wife. Congratulations and you may kiss your bride.
Image
 
May I present to you The Cameras!
 
Image
 
 
 
The music started up again, this time the studio recording and not instrumental version of one of our absolutely favorite songs – “Home” by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes. This has become quite the staple in weddings, hasn’t it? And for good reason. Taken a listen if you haven’t heard it. 
 
Image
 
We danced our way down the aisle. Literally. 
 
Image
Image
 
Yes, I did in fact get suburned during our 15 minute ceremony. Told you I was pale. 
 
Everyone else was close behind, and eager to get inside and out of the sun. 
Image
 
Image
 
Best. Moment. Ever. 
 

Picture Perfect: The Longest Yard :  wedding charleston pictures pro pics recap Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: We Process :  wedding charleston pictures pro pics recap Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: Camera Family Values and What Cam Does When I’m Not Looking :  wedding charleston pictures pro pics recap Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: Bridesmaids by a Tree :  wedding charleston pictures pro pics recap Pictureperfect4 Picture Perfect: A Veil Made with Love :  wedding charleston pictures recap veil Pictureperfect4 pictureperfect4

Previously on Picture Perfect

 

Leave a Reply

