Picture Perfect: We Party in the USA

When we last left off, Cam and I had arrived in Charleston with my parents in tow and had a nice big glass of Moscato to calm my nerves. We decided early on that we wanted to have family dinner night on Friday, but my brother and his wife weren’t flying in until the next day, and Cam’s family rented a house about an hour away where they were entertaining guests. So alas, just my parents, Cam and I.

With so many delicious restaurants to choose from, we used one criterion that I knew would be important to my parents – the view. My parents love restaurants on the waterfront, and there’s only one in the city proper of Charleston – Fleet Landing. Don’t get me wrong, there are quite a few out on the beach stretches, but we wanted to show them downtown Charleston as they had never been there before.

I was having a good great hair day, and I wanted to document it before the inevitable fall out (see what I did there?) So don’t mind this selfie:

Image

I miss that hair. We decided to sit on the deck. With the breeze. And the saltwater mist. Not a good combo for hair. And yet, it was delightful

Image

Image

ImageMy delicious mussels. And BREAD. Lots of BREAD.

We had a great time just catching up, enjoying the view, and more wine of course.

After dinner, we had made unofficial plans to have all our friends who had arrived in town to meet us at a bar. We chose the Vendue Inn rooftop. If you’ve ever been there, you know why. It’s exactly like it sounds – a rooftop bar on top of a small hotel, with panoramic city views.

We arrived first, and our friends slowly filtered in. Unfortunately, because it’s on a roof, there were no lights. And iPhone cameras don’t like to use flash, so this is really the only good photo I have from the Vendue Inn.

Image

That’s BM Badonk, me and MOH JJ! Reunited, and it feels so good. Goodbye, nice hair.

Someone suggested dancing (probably me) so our posse rolled out of the Vendue Inn and over to Mad River.

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

We had a great time dancing, singing, hanging out, and basically partying in the USA.

Image

I loved this photo until I realized someone had spilled on my dress. Wah.

Soon enough, it was time to leave, but not before I posed Cam in front of this sign:

Image

We headed back to the hotel to get some much needed beauty rest, because I had to be up and at ’em the next morning for our girls’ day!

Did you have a pre-wedding party for your guests? Where do you park your husband? Any tricks for frizzy hair?

Image

Previously on Picture Perfect: The Camera Wedding

  • I beg you to take mental pictures so you don’t forget everything like I did
  • We hit the road for Charleston but not after putting out our new initial doormat!
Leave a Reply

