The One With Single Digits

As of today, there are NINE days before my wedding. 

I have been dreading this week since the night we got engaged. Okay that might have been a bit of an exaggeration, but it’s been on my radar for quite some time. I knew I would be scheduled to work a lot to get ready for 2 weeks (!!!!) off. I knew I would be emotionally, physically and financially exhausted from planning this wedding for 10 months. I knew I would have trouble sleeping. Check, check and check.

What I didn’t realize was how surprisingly calm I would be. 

The other day, I headed to Macy’s to peruse the jewelry section, and the saleswoman that was helping me choose a pair of earrings asked me when my wedding was. When I said “Next Sunday,” she smiled at me and said “Well, you’re awfully relaxed!”

Truth be told: there’s nothing to be anxious about.

Sure, I’m throwing the biggest event of my life and I’ve poured over the details for months and months, but at the end of the day, it’s a 6 hour party. 

Image

Image via someecards.com

I had this sudden realization sometime last week – I’m getting married.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s going to be one hell of a party, and our friends are putting a lot of faith in that. Every day I hear “I can’t wait for your wedding it’s going to be EPIC.” Uh, put the pressure on a little more, would ya? 

But let’s get down to brass tacks: I’m marrying my best friend, the love of my life and soulmate. I reflected on the fact that if it weren’t for a chance encounter on Match.com, I would probably have never met him. My life could have gone in a very different direction. I’ve become very thankful for that website, and I’m so glad my friend forced me into joining. 

So, the 6 hour party is going to be great (hopefully), but the rest of my life is going to be amazing.

And that’s why I’m so calm this week. 

Image

personal photo

How were your single-digit nerves?

PS: Stay tuned for what I’m sure will be a rebuttal of this and a complete pre-wedding meltdown.

Leave a Reply

