The One With the Cornhole Boards

Back in June, when I had all the time in the world, I mentioned we would be having cornhole at our wedding. Well, I’m happy to announce that the boards are finally done! Now it’s time for a WeddingBee DIY post!

Note: Cam’s brother-in-law made our boards, so I’m not entirely sure on the details, but you can read all about that here.

First up, I set the boards down (gently) on 2 plastic tablecloths from Target to protect the floor from the painting that was about to ensue.

ImageNext, I took pictures while Milo rolled around on the cornhole boards.

Image

Then, when he finally got up and moved on to playing in the boxes of our shower gifts, I got to work painting the base color, which was white. I did 2 coats of this for good coverage, and when it was dry, I drew horizontal lines to delineate where the stripes would go.

The cornhole boards were 48″ long, and each stripe is 4″ wide, for a total of 12 stripes. I used a measuring tape to make sure they were evenly spaced, and the same measuring tape to ensure the lines were straight.

Image

I taped off the stripes so I could try my best to keep the paint in the lines.

Image

I painted every other stripe navy blue, which I forgot to take a picture of, but it’s not hard to use your imagination.

Then, I cut out a heart out of a Bed Bath & Beyond box top (thanks shower guests!), traced it with a pencil, and got to work filling it in with light pink.

ImageFinally, when the heart was dry, I sprawled out on my belly on the floor and handwrote our (my new) last name, and est. 2013 in a font similar to my favorite – Carolyna Pro Black in a Sharpie Paint Pen in White.

Image

It pains me that you can’t see the name, because it really shows off my paint pen skills, but I used the same font inspiration for my chalkboards which will be revealed soon!

All that’s left to do is a quick coat of clear finish to a) seal the paint in, and b) adhere to the official cornhole guidelines. Mama Camera is making matching bags in navy and gray, and will bring them to the wedding, which is in a mere 3 weeks!

How did your cornhole boards turn out? Did your guests use them?

Leave a Reply

