The One With the Partial Seating

Seeing as how I am a North-to-South transplant, I have had to be taught things about being southern. In the four years I’ve lived in the south, I’ve learned a few things:

1. Nobody drinks unsweetened tea. I don’t drink tea at all. I’m basically shunned from all picnics.
2. “Bless Your Heart” is the worst insult you can give a person.
3. Bacon grease can keep in a coffee mug in the fridge for months
4. Southern weddings are a big deal. Read: HUGE DEAL.

Oh boy. Southern weddings. If you know what I’m talking about, you know what I’m talking about. It’s kind of one of those “if you have to ask you’ll never know” sort of situations.

For some reason, even though I tell people I’m from Pennsylvania when they ask, I wanted a Big Fat Southern Wedding. This seemed like a good idea in theory, but having not been to a ton of big southern weddings myself, I didn’t really know where to start.

Enter: Lauren with Cafe Catering. Yet again, she was able to explain to me what was expected at such an event. We went over lots of little nuances, but she also had to explain some of the bigger components to me.

One of these items was the seating situation. We are having food stations, which are also known as “heavy hors d’ouevres.” These have apparently become quite popular with the folks down here below the Mason-Dixon. Obviously, wanting to fit in, I signed right on up. This led to her explaining to me that since we will not be having a large, sit-down dinner, there is no need to have assigned seating. In fact, there was no need to even have a seat for every person.

Mind = Blown.

Here’s how that conversation went:

Me: “But, where will people put their shoes and bags and phones?”
Lauren: “Um, they’ll just pile them somewhere”
Me: “But.. but.. when I go to a wedding I always take my shoes off and leave them under my chair.. where will they leave their shoes?”
Lauren: “Wherever they want”

It took a little while, but I think I’m finally on board with this plan. She suggested that we provide enough actual seats for 70% of our total guest count. This will be divided into:

9 60″ round tables with 8 chairs:

Image

Image via istockphoto.com

… and 6 high-boy cocktail tables that don’t actually have chairs:

According to Lauren, and a bunch of websites that I’ve read regarding this exact scenario, this provides seating for the older people and those who would prefer to sit, while at the same time allowing a surface to eat off of while standing up for the younger folks. It will create a nice flow where people will be able to eat, drink, dance, mingle, play games and just generally enjoy the wedding all at the same time.

I’ve floated this idea to a few of my bridesmaids, and they don’t seem to think it’s a great idea, and I didn’t either initially, but it’s growing on me. Plus, I’m that much closer to passing for a southern belle. Bless my heart.

What do you think, hive? Anyone out there do partial seating like this?

Leave a Reply

