The One With the VSQ

… the Vitamin String Quartet! Hive, if you’re planning a wedding, surely you’ve come across this fantastic little group. I have no idea why ‘Vitamin’ is in their name, but the VSQ is a string quartet based in Los Angeles, California that creates, performs and records string versions of modern rock and pop songs.

Image

Image via last.fm

 

These range from pretty much everything you can think of – they do “string quartet tributes” to Alice in Chains, Green Day, 311, Led Zeppelin, Adele, Beach Boys, Coldplay… this list goes on and on. Seriously, if you look at their website or iTunes page, they have upwards of 260 albums. Cray.

Anyway, when I discovered them (you know, pre-engagement of course), I just knew we needed to include them somewhere in our wedding. A while back, I discussed our first dance song, and made some mention to the fact that we don’t want your typical cookie-cutter wedding march followed by a Michael Buble cocktail hour and topped off with an all-top 40 dance party. We take music seriously. Very seriously. A little too seriously.

Yesterday, while waiting to board a plane from Charlotte to Pittsburgh (I’m up here for BM Hamster’s bridal shower and bachelorette.. and MOH JJ is here and BM Twerk too! Yay!), I thought it would be a good time to go through my extensive music collection and start putting together a playlist.

I ended up on YouTube, as one does in the airport, and started reviewing all of the VSQ songs I had loved several months ago. I made a list of the ones I liked, and started assigning them to spots in the ceremony music. A quick phone call to Cam confirmed that we both loved their versions of certain songs, and we decided to have an all-VSQ ceremony! We’d segue into songs with lyrics at the cocktail hour.

Later on, I’ll reveal my playlists for the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception, but for now I need some opinions on what to walk down the aisle to. I’ve narrowed it down to __ songs, and will likely be using them all at some point in the ceremony (seating music, groomsmen/parents sitting, bridesmaids, etc.), but I’m leaving it up to the hive to help!

1. VSQ string tribute to ‘Yellow’ by Coldplay

2. VSQ string tribute to ‘Crazy Love’ by Van Morrison

3. VSQ string tribute to ‘Holocene’ by Bon Iver **sidenote: I am obsessed with this song by Bon Iver. I would use the original version as my processional, but there may be some questionable language. But seriously – you should listen to it.

4. VSQ string tribute to ‘Can’t Help Falling in Love’ by Michael Buble (shouldn’t it be Elvis?)

 

I love them all, and can’t decide! That’s where I need ya’ll to sound off in the comments – anyone else using VSQ? What did you walk down the aisle to?

Leave a Reply

