The One With the Sweet Suite

*I’m at this weird lull in my wedding planning process where I don’t have a ton of new stuff to talk about, but before I know it, it’s going to be just around the corner and I’ll have a million new topics, so bear with me!

One thing I was super excited about was our hotel room for the wedding. I think this came from realizing that we likely would not be able to go on a honeymoon immediately for a variety of reasons, so I wanted to make sure the hotel room I booked for the wedding would be more than your average bear.

As I mentioned before, our venue is sort of in the middle of nowhere. But it’s so worth it once you get there:

Image

Photo credit Richard Bell Photography / Image via the wedding row

Seeing pictures like this makes me giddy with excitement.

Anyway, back on track. So, my mom booked those rooms at the closest hotels that aren’t downtown Charleston. If you’ve ever been to Charleston, you probably know that the downtown hotel rates are sort of redonk. We got some quotes that even with a group discount rate it would be like $300/night. Sorry, nobody is going to pay for that. Except maybe my uncle.

We wanted to stay in a place that our bridal party could afford, even though several of them are looking into renting a beach house for the occasion. We looked at the options along the stretch of road the hotel blocks were on, and one sort of stood out from the rest. It’s not a chain, it’s been there a while, and it’s in the midst of a total makeover – the Town & Country Inn & Suites.

From the outside, it doesn’t look like anything special (this is actually an artist’s rendering of the finished remodel, but it’s spot on):

Who doesn’t love palm trees right outside the door?

On their website, the rooms looked nice, but if you’re like me, you always wonder if you’re being deceived by website photos. In February, while we were in Charleston doing wedding-y things, we decided to stay there to get a first-hand look at things.

Here was our room – the standard, contemporary King room

That picture doesn’t do it much justice. It was probably one of the nicest hotel rooms I’ve ever stayed in – and I’ve stayed in more than my share of hotels. Every room had a Keurig coffee maker, a huge flat screen TV, floor to ceiling windows, and a luxurious bathroom, which had both a glass shower and a bathtub (I used both), as well as eco-friendly amenities and marble countertops:

Image

Image via Trip Advisor

The bathroom was freaking huge.

While we were there, we contacted Stephen who works with group reservations and catering from the hotel’s restaurant. He graciously took us on a tour of the hotel to show us all of the options. One stuck out pretty obviously – The Charlestowne Suite (side note: I brought my camera, and clearly didn’t use it as I had to google all of these, but trust me when I say it’s even bigger and prettier in person!):

Image

Image via Trip Advisor

Image

Image via Trip Advisor

It looks like a huge, fancy master bedroom, doesn’t it!? What you can’t see in the above photos is that there is a 60″ TV on the wall in front of the chairs and immediately next to that are floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook the pool.

 

Image

Image via Venere

I have big plans for that whirlpool bath. And Cam is not involved. I picture myself the night before my wedding relaxing there and just mentally preparing for the day. I wonder if it’s BYOB – Bring Your Own Bubbles?

Right now the plan is to stay in a regular room 2 nights before the wedding (with Cam), then separate the night before. Which I find funny since we’ve lived together for 2 years, but Cam is oh-so-traditional and old fashioned, I just have to indulge him. Plus that means I get the suite all to myself, and he has to find somewhere else to stay.

This is especially helpful because I wanted a place big enough for my ‘maids to come hang out, have some mimosas (or 4), get my hair and makeup done and generally enjoy the day. And this place looks big enough!

I can’t wait to spend 2 glorious nights in this suite.

Did you splurge on your wedding suite? Are you staying together the night before if you lived together? Any suggestions on delightful bubble baths to bring?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

