The One Where I Asked My Bridesmaids

Hi hive! As discussed the other day, the idea of having 8 attendants was mostly due to Cam. I had no problem coming up with 8 of my own lovely ladies:

MOH JJ, BM Hamster and BM Twerk from PA school

Image

Personal Photo – MOH JJ’s wedding July 2012. Clockwise from top left MOH JJ’s husband, MOH JJ, BM Hamster, Me, BM Twerk

Then I have 3 amazing friends from North Carolina: BM Yerr Welcome (Awkward anyone? When Sadie says “you’re welcome?” BM YW and I love it.) and BM Moms:

Image

Personal Photo / BM Mom, Me, BM YW and BM Mom’s husband photobombing in the background

and BM FUN.

Image

Personal Photo / Me, Cam, BM FUN., and GM Sailor (they’re engaged too!)

And finally, two amazing future sisters-in-law that I really lucked out to get. BM Boys and BM Cupcake:

Image

Personal Photo / Look at my ringbearer as a widdle baby!

Image

Personal Photo

When I decided to solidify this list and ask my girls, I knew I wanted to do something fun and different. A few years ago, I was asked to be in a wedding with a cookie. It was dress shaped and said Miss Camera, will you be my bridesmaid? And it was freaking delicious.

I wanted to copy it, but then I wanted to make something myself. Initially, I wanted to make personalized labels for wine bottles, but 3 of my bridesmaids live out of state, and 4 live 2 hours away from me, so it would be next to impossible to get them all the same thing. Reluctantly, I started on everyone’s favorite wedding site – Pinterest, to get some ideas.

Paperdolls cut out like your bridesmaids:

Image

Photo by Anna Bond of Rifle Design / Image via BZEvents.com

The Be-My-Maid box:

The ring pop:

I thought they were all super cute, but really wanted to do something different. Cam actually suggested it – a puzzle!

I made Cam take a picture of me, uploaded it to my computer, printed it out and modge podge-d it to 8 different puzzles that I bought at Joann Fabrics, spent countless hours separating the puzzle pieces and getting blisters on my fingers, put them in little boxes and mailed them off!

Here’s what they saw when they opened the packaging:

Image

Personal Photo

And here is what was inside! Along with a little note explaining how much they mean to me and why I want them by my side on my big day:

Image

Personal Photo

It didn’t turn out exactly how I had envisioned, but it got the point across and was definitely different than the things I had seen fairly frequently.

Funny story – after I had wrapped all the puzzles up in boxes and sent them off, I found a corner piece from one puzzle under the couch. BM YW called to accept and said (her then boyfriend, now fiance) GM A  said “I bet she left a piece out so she could give it to you at the wedding and say ‘you’re the missing piece’ .” HA! Man, I wish I would’ve thought of that!

Image

Personal Photo / oops!

And there you have it! How did you ask your bridesmaids?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

