The One With Regrets

Hive, I don’t know what time it is where you are, but it’s confession o’clock here in Miss Camera’s house.

I sometimes have regret. About my venue. About my location. About this whole thing in general.

Not about marrying Cam, just wishing I would have a true destination wedding on a tropical island.

I feel like all brides probably have this thought cross their minds at least once during the wedding planning process. Who wouldn’t want to toss their decision making to a wedding expert at a resort in the Caribbean, show up a few days early to lounge on the beach and drink mango daiquiris, put on a flowy, light chiffon dress and no shoes, and marry the love of their life in front of a turquoise sea?

Case in point:

This girl knows what’s up.

The other day, I was on my usual once-daily “I sure wish we hadn’t put down the non-refundable deposit so we could just reroute this whole operation to Turks & Caicos,” when the always-supportive Cam said “You know, it’s starting to worry me how much you’re saying this.”

Apparently, at first he thought I was joking and let me talk and talk about a white-sand reception with orchids and coconuts to toast champagne. But then he realized that I was only half-joking, and became legitimately concerned.

He took my hand, looked in my face and said “Shut up.”

“Excuuuuse me!?”

You heard me. Shut up about the Caribbean wedding. You deserve a wedding with all your friends and family there, showering you with love and celebrating long into the night. You deserve the dress you want, and I know high heels are important to you. You deserve a real honeymoon, all to ourselves. And that’s what I’m going to give you.”

He metaphorically slapped some sense right back into me, and now I’m back on board with the 150+ guest affair this is turning into.

Folks, I got one of the good ones.

Anyone else out there have thoughts of doing a true-destination wedding? Anyone out there planning a destination wedding?

Leave a Reply

