The One With All the Flowers

I honestly had no vested interest in a wedding full of flowers. It didn’t even really cross my mind until my mother brought up “don’t forget to look into florists!” and “Don’t you want a bouquet of white roses?”

Absolutely. Not.

I’ve always known flowers were a big part of the wedding process, but swear to goodness I did not know that meant the bill can run you up to $2,000 on average. While we’re doing well and very aware of the budget restrictions we put on ourselves, I honestly had no idea I needed to reserve that big of a chunk of change for plants that would die in 6 hours.

Enter: weddingbee. A quick boards search proved I was not alone in feeling that I could not possibly justify spending that much on flowers, pretty as they may be. People had all sorts of suggestions – DIY bouquets, silk flowers, wholesale farmer’s market flowers for centerpieces, but they all had their hang ups: I’ve never designed flower arrangements let alone bouquets, silk flowers in my mind are just.. let’s not go there, and who has time to shop last minute for flowers at a farmer’s market two days before their wedding? How could you possibly be able to plan the look in advance?

I emailed a baker’s dozen of florists in the greater Charleston, SC area and several returned my emails with quite a bit of information. I seem to have settled on one in particular, Pretty Petals. Gang, here’s what I’m picturing in my mind (keep in mind this is a southern soireee):

Image

Image via OneWed.com // Image credit Oh Lovely Day

Ohh, I don’t know if there are words for how perfect this arrangement is for my wedding! Again, there is no doubt in anyone’s mind that I have embraced the South. I am currently OB-SESS-ED with blue mason jars. When I came across this photo of blue mason jars on hooks to line the ceremony aisle filled with fluffy multi-colored flowers, my heart went pitter-patter. I have a vision of all the flowers at my wedding looking like they could have been plucked from a garden 20 minutes before the guests arrived.

Image

Image via VerandaWeddings.com // Image Credit via Bohemian Kate

Janice, from Pretty Petals, was sent these exact photos, and expanded on the ideas. She sent me a quote for everything – bouquets, boutonnieres, flower girl petals, corsages and ceremony and reception decor for a mere $1,200! Still a hard pill to swallow in terms of the financial aspect, but much improved from the typical 2-3 grand most brides are asked to cough up.

How did y’all do your florals? Any brave souls out there put together their own arrangements?

Leave a Reply

